Google with a new security update to make file sharing more secure for users. It issued a warning that the upcoming update to the system may change the Drive links for some files. The link for shared files sent to friends, family members, or colleagues might no longer work.
Drive users will send out fresh sharing links to such files post the update. The change leads to some users requiring file access permissions from the host again. Thus, Google reports that “Access to these files won’t change for people who have already viewed them”.
The new Drive security update will be implemented on September 13 with shared a link that allows you to see files to the Drive account to get a new share link. The users can head over to this Drive link from a browser with their desired Google Drive account. It will be able to see the files affected by the new change.
If some of the files will be influenced, it simply chooses to remove this security update in Drive. Google removes the update “should only be considered for files that are posted publicly”. It also simply re-shares updated links to these affected files when the update is applied to avoid new access requests.