The company is bringing a separate section for “recently deleted” to allow users to review the posts they have deleted. It makes users restore their deleted pictures. It is also sending prompts to users recollecting the changes made in unsend messages features.
Instagram said in a blog that “Today, we’re rolling out Recently Deleted, a feature to help you manage your content. We know this is something people have been asking for and now, for the first time, you can review and restore deleted content in the Instagram app. We also added protection to help prevent hackers from compromising your account and deleting posts you’ve shared,”.
Instagram launching this new feature where users had no way of fetching their old photos and videos. After recent changes, users will be asked to verify whether they are in the right account holders when permanently deleting or restoring content from Recently Deleted.
Instagram said that the pictures, videos, reels, IGTV, and stories will be removed from the account when the user hits the delete button but moved to the Recently Deleted folder that has been created. Deleted stories that are not in the archive will stay in the folder for up to 24 hours. Everything will be automatically deleted 30 days later. All the information will be there for the 30 days to get back anytime but before the expiry date.
Instagram sent a pop-up message to users for any changes in the unsend messages feature. If there is any unsent messages against the standards. Then, there will be a report to the company. Users can also delete or unsend the messages. The messages will be there in the record if the messages are against the standards of Instagram.